As I wake up this morning I feel my stomach telling me that it is empty.  I just don’t feel hunger I feel empty.  It is a stark reminder of my life before I trusted Jesus with all my heart.  I gave my heart to Jesus when I was 16yrs old  but nearly 10 years went by before I really truly began to turn all of my life over to Him.  I guess you would say I took the scenic route to Total Surrender.  I did my share of partying and carousing and even though I was having “fun” or so I thought, I still, at the end of the day,  felt “empty”.

I guess you can’t even fully comprehend that your soul is empty until it’s been full at least once.  The ways of the world are all we know as we grow up and they seem to be working for all those people around us who engage in them.  But as I have grown older I see a truth that I never saw when I was young.  Anything might “work for” someone for a time.  But if that pursuit or belief system is not truth, at some point that person will be left empty.  Kind of like my stomach feels this morning.

Fasting reminds me to pray for those who are involved in empty pursuits, vain actions and worldly gains.  I pray that, sooner than later, God will allow them to feel that empty place – which opens their eyes to seek the truth, Jesus.

Now I think I will have some tea,

Pj

1 Peter 1:18-19 For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your forefathers, but with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect.