We are tired after a very long weekend. Stacy and I left on Thursday night after supper and drove six hours to Penfield for Adam’s graduation on Friday morning at  9 a.m.  Once again we witness man after man come and testify to the gifts that God has instilled in Adam; His leadership, his Bible knowledge and his compassion for the other men.  Then Dr Bill King asked me to come to his office with him.  Bill and I had made a connection when Stacy and I visited on Family Education Day when he pulled me aside and told me that God had instilled in him that he should pray with me for Adam.  I wasn’t quite sure why he prayed with only me, I just chalked it up to a “God thing” but was thankful for a moment when I felt like God reached out to comfort.  So I walked to Bills office with him and he began by saying how much God potential he saw in Adam.  Then he revealed to me the catalyst to this God connection.  Bill’s has a son named Adam, and his Adam was an addict.  Not just an addict an opiate addict. Bill shared with me that the Holy Spirit instilled in him that he was to tell their story to give us a great hope in what God will do.  Bill’s son was the same age as Adam when his addiction began.  Bill’s son was the same age as Adam when he went to rehab.  Bill’s son was the same age as Adam when he went to rehab the second time.  Bill’s son is not only living a clean life, he is a lawyer and the father of two.

Bill and I knelt and prayed that this would be the starting over point for Adam.  That he would give up himself and totally surrender to what God has planned for him.  Bill handed me a little wooden cross to remember that moment.  I have it on the dash of my truck.

Well, we packed up Adam and his stuff and drove him the three and half hours to LaFayette, GA.  To his next step in recovery.  Adam has committed the next year of his life to live at Yobel House.  An accountable living residence.  He will live in an apartment with 4 other men.  He has to find a job, pay rent, contribute for the groceries share the cooking and cleaning, while attending AA meetings, Bible classes, church services, as well as account for every dime he earns.  A Resident counselor lives at the house with them and helps them with transitioning to a clean and sober lifestyle.

The biggest difference from last time to this time is the sense of peace we have but more importantly the peace that was evident in Adam.  This was the place that he felt the Holy Spirit was nudging him to go.

Sorry for this being so long – but a lot has happened in a short period of time.  We left Adam there and drove eight hours back home and enjoyed a night of worship on Saturday and great celebration service on Sunday at Lifecoast Church.

True Peace can only be found in trusting Jesus,

Pj

PS

If you would like to write to Adam here is his address.  I’m sure he would appreciate any encouragement he can get.

 

Adam Barksdale

151 Bell Rd.

Lafayette, GA 30728